
Horses to be used as steeds can be purchased from Mailee at #unfamiliar-familiars. Creatures 
other than horses require special saddles in order to be ridden, and undomesticated 
animals/monsters may only be ridden during quests / arenas at DM discretion or if the statblock / 
item description says they can be ridden. 

All the listed options in the Find Steed / Find Greater Steed are permitted for those who have that 
option. If you would like a steed that is not listed in there you can either use a statblock for one of 
the listed mounts and reflavour it as a similar creature, as long as any special attacks / abilities 
make sense. If you would like a statblock different from one of the listed mounts for your custom 
steed then submit a request to #request-board, the DMs will then discuss what would be an 
appropriate statblock and whether it would be a permissible mount.

While mounts are in combat there are two options for how they act: Controlled or Independent. 
Most of the time while you are riding your mount, it will be a controlled mount. A controlled 
mount is effectively an extension of your character. It moves during your turn and the mount can 
only take the Dash, Disengage, or Dodge actions. It can still take bonus actions and reactions 
including attacks of opportunity, provided it is physically capable of doing so. E.g. a warhorse 
requires its hooves to attack, so would be unable to make an AoO if its feet are stuck in quicksand 
or mud. Controlled mounts are controlled by the player.

Intelligent creatures or wild animals are typically always independent mounts, but in special 
circumstances - such as the Find Steed spell - may consent to become a controlled mount. 
Independent mounts roll their own initiative and act on their own turn, but have access to all 
actions including making attacks. However, you may be required to make an ability check to get 
an independent mount to follow your instructions. Independent mounts may choose to flee 
combat, or throw off their riders of their own accord and are controlled by the DM. 

How do Mounts work?
Possible Steeds

Note: Only non-hostile creatures at least one size category larger than you have any chance 
of being ride-able. 

Controlled Mounts

Independent Mounts

Items and Mounts



Controlled mounts can wear barding and other equipment designed for them, but cannot
wield weapons nor use magic items (except items specifically designed for mounts). Independent 
mounts may be able to use other objects, at DM discretion.

D&D 5e is not especially good at explaining mounts and mounted combat, here are some of the 
most common questions.

A Medium creature fills a 1x1 square on a battlemap and can only be ridden by Small or smaller 
creatures.

A Large creature fills a 2x2 square on a battlemap grid, while riding a Large mount you are treated 
as occupying all of those squares for the purpose of attack reach and AoOs. 

A Huge creature fills a 3x3 square on a battlemap grid, while a Medium or smaller creature is 
riding a Huge mount you are normally treated as occupying the entire 3x3 square for the purpose 
of attack reach and AoOs. However, your DM may choose to treat you as occupying the central 
square of a Huge mount - be sure to ask which rule they use.

In general, creatures that can fly, or cause status effects (other than “prone”) such as ‘poisoned’ 
or ‘restrained’ are not allowed as mounts, unless given by a DM for use only during a specific 
quest.

Example: “I ride up to the Orc and attack him with my sword.”

Controlled mount: the mount moves as part of your turn, you use your action on your turn to make 
your attack making two (or more attacks) if you have the Extra Attack feature. The mount cannot 
attack, but may Disengage and continue moving after you have attacked.

Independent mount: 

On your turn: You use your movement and bonus action, then Hold Action to attack once in range 
of the Orc, then instruct your mount to approach the Orc.

On mount’s turn: The mount uses its movement to get within 5ft of the Orc, triggering your held 
action. You use your reaction to make a single attack against the Orc, (Extra Attack only applies to 
attacks on your turn.) Your mount can then make its attack against the Orc.

Frequently Asked Questions

How big is my mount?

Can “X” be my mount?

Examples
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